Skip to main content

This international prize which recognises our research contributions was an important milestone in my career as it was for many other recipients of this prestigious prize. It also gave me the confidence in 1996 to begin a whole new range of challenging research programs.

S. V. Ley

PROF. S. V. Ley

Professor Steven Ley is currently Professor of Chemistry and Director of Research at at the University of Cambridge. He is also a Fellow of Trinity College and was BP 1702 Professor of Chemistry for 21 years. Steve obtained his PhD from Loughborough University with Professor Harry Heaney and afterwards carried out postdoctoral research with Professor Leo Paquette (Ohio State University) and then Professor Derek Barton (Imperial College). He was appointed as a lecturer at Imperial College in 1975, promoted to Professor in 1983, and became Head of Department there in 1989. In 1990 he was elected to the Royal Society (London) and was President of The Royal Society of Chemistry from 2000-2002.


Steve’s research interests are varied and span many disciplines including new synthetic methodologies, the total synthesis of natural products and the development of enabling technologies for chemical synthesis - especially in the area of flow chemistry technologies. He has published over 800 papers and has been honoured with 50 major awards including recently since 2009: the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry (Elsevier); Heinrich Wieland Prize (Boehringer Ingelheim, Germany); The Paracelsus Prize (Swiss Chemical Society); The Royal Medal (The Royal Society, London); The Longstaff Prize (The Royal Society of Chemistry); the Franco-Britannique Prize (Société Chimique de France); and the IUPAC-Thales Nano Prize in Flow Chemistry.

S. Ley S. Ley
Last updated: Jan. 9, 2020


2018 - PROF. F. D. Toste UC Berkeley, USA
2016 - PROF. D. MacMillan Princeton University, USA
2014 - PROF. J.F Hartwig UC Berkeley, USA
2012 - PROF. I. Marek Technion, Israel
2010 - PROF. E. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
2008 - PROF. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institut, Germany
2004 - PROF. P. Knochel Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Germany
2002 - PROF. D. Boger Scripps Research Institute, USA
2000 - PROF. F. Diederich ETH Zurich, Switzerland
1998 - PROF. D. P. Curran University of Pittsburgh, USA
1996 - PROF. S. V. Ley Cambridge, UK
1994 - PROF. K. C. Nicolaou The Scripps Research Institute and University of California at San Diego, USA
1992 - PROF. P. D. Magnus Texas University, USA
1990 - PROF. B. M. Trost Stanford University, USA
1988 - PROF. J. Baldwin Oxford University, UK
1986 - PROF. K. B. Sharpless Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA