Skip to main content

PROF. S. Kobayashi

Shu Kobayashi studied at The University of Tokyo, receiving his Ph.D. in 1988 working under the direction of Professor T. Mukaiyama.


Following an initial period as assistant professor, he was promoted to lecturer then associate professor at Science University of Tokyo (SUT). In 1998, he moved to the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of Tokyo, as full professor. In 2007, he was appointed to his current position as professor of organic chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, The University of Tokyo. Professor Kobayashi held various visiting professorships, including the Universite Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg (1993), Kyoto University (1995), Nijmegen University (1996), and Philipps-University of Marburg (1997). Paris-Sud (2010).


Professor Kobayashi has wide-ranging research interests that include the development of new synthetic methods and novel catalysts, organic reactions in water, solid-phase and flow synthesis, total synthesis of biologically interesting compounds, and organometallic chemistry. He has held numerous named lectureships and is a recipient of many prestigious awards, including the Chemical Society of Japan Award for Young Chemists (1991), Springer Award in Organometallic Chemistry (1997), IBM Science Award (2001), Organic Reactions Lecturer (2002), Nagoya Silver Medal (2002), Mitsui Chemical Catalysis Science Award (2005), JSPS Prize (2005), the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society (2006), Howard Memorial Lecturer (2006), C.S. Hamilton Award (2007), Merck-Cambridge Lecturer (2007), Boehringer Ingelheim Lecturer (2009), Humboldt Research Award (2013), Green Chemistry Minister of Education Award (2013), Green Chemistry Minister of Education Award (2013), Professor Emeritus, Wuhan Institute of Technology (2013), TUM-IAS Honorary Hans Fischer Senior Fellow (2013), Association for the Advancement of Science(AAAS) Fellow (2015).

Prof. Shu Kobayashi Prof. Shu Kobayashi

PROF. Shu Kobayashi
University of Tokyo

Last updated: Sept. 1, 2019

The Jury

PROF. B.L. Feringa President of the jury,
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
PROF. J. Cossy ESPCI, Paris (France)
PROF. DR. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institute für Kohlenforschung - Germany
PROF. V. Gouverneur University of Oxford, UK
PROF. P. Herdewijn Rega Institute for Medical Sciences Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
PROF. K.C. Nicolaou Rice University, USA
PROF. S. Kobayashi President, University of Tokyo, Japan
PROF. E. N. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
Dr L. Meerpoel Secretary of the jury Janssen R&D, Belgium