Skip to main content

The Dr. Paul Janssen prize for Creativity In Organic Synthesis is really an outstanding recognition for our synthetic contributions in zinc and magnesium organometallic chemistry.

Paul Knochel

PROF. P. Knochel

Paul Knochel was born 1955 in Strasbourg (France). He did his undergraduate studies at the University of Strasbourg (France) and his Ph.D at the ETH-Zürich with Prof. D. Seebach.

He spent 4 years at the CNRS at the University Pierre and Marie Curie in Paris with Prof. J.-F. Normant and one year of post-doctoral studies at Princeton University in the laboratory of Prof. M. F. Semmelhack. In 1987, he accepted a position as Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, Michigan. In 1991, he became Full Professor at this University and in 1992, he moved to Philipps-University at Marburg (Germany) as C4-Professor in Organic Chemistry. In 1999, he moved to the Chemistry Department of Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich (Germany).

His research interests include the development of novel organometallic reagents and methods for use in organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis and natural product synthesis. Prof. Knochel received many distinguished prices as e.g. the Berthelot Medal of the Academie des Sciences (Paris), the IUPAC Thieme Prize, the Otto-Bayer-Prize, the Leibniz-Prize, the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, Karl-Ziegler-Prize, the Nagoya Gold Medal, the H. C. Brown Award and Paul Karrer gold medal. He is member of the Académie des Sciences, the Bavarian Academy of Science, the German Academy of Sciences Leopodina, and the Center for Advanced Studies. In 2009 he received the ERC grant “New Organometallics”. He is author of 900 publications (H-index = 80).


Paul Knochel Paul Knochel
Last updated: Jan. 9, 2020


2018 - PROF. F. D. Toste UC Berkeley, USA
2016 - PROF. D. MacMillan Princeton University, USA
2014 - PROF. J.F Hartwig UC Berkeley, USA
2012 - PROF. I. Marek Technion, Israel
2010 - PROF. E. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
2008 - PROF. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institut, Germany
2004 - PROF. P. Knochel Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Germany
2002 - PROF. D. Boger Scripps Research Institute, USA
2000 - PROF. F. Diederich ETH Zurich, Switzerland
1998 - PROF. D. P. Curran University of Pittsburgh, USA
1996 - PROF. S. V. Ley Cambridge, UK
1994 - PROF. K. C. Nicolaou The Scripps Research Institute and University of California at San Diego, USA
1992 - PROF. P. D. Magnus Texas University, USA
1990 - PROF. B. M. Trost Stanford University, USA
1988 - PROF. J. Baldwin Oxford University, UK
1986 - PROF. K. B. Sharpless Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA