Skip to main content

What a wonderful honor it has been to be a Janssen Prize winner. It is a recognition I will cherish throughout my career.

Dale Boger

PROF. D. Boger

Dale Boger received his B.Sc. in chemistry from the University of Kansas (1975, with highest distinction and honors in chemistry) and Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University (1980) under the direction of E. J. Corey and supported by an NSF fellowship. He returned to the University of Kansas as a member of the faculty in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry (1979-1985), moved to the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University (1985-1991), and joined the faculty in the newly created Department of Chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute (1991-present) as the Richard and Alice Cramer Professor of Chemistry. Since 2012, he has served as the Chairman for the Department of Chemistry. Professor Boger is internationally recognized for his work in organic synthesis, natural products total synthesis and their biological evaluation, synthetic methodology development, and medicinal chemistry, and has made seminal contributions to improving the glycopeptide antibiotics and the understanding of DNA-drug interactions of naturally occurring antitumor-antibiotics. Dale Boger is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, a member of the National Academy of Inventors, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and among the inaugural recipients of the Searle Scholars Award.

D. Boger D. Boger
Last updated: Jan. 9, 2020


2018 - PROF. F. D. Toste UC Berkeley, USA
2016 - PROF. D. MacMillan Princeton University, USA
2014 - PROF. J.F Hartwig UC Berkeley, USA
2012 - PROF. I. Marek Technion, Israel
2010 - PROF. E. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
2008 - PROF. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institut, Germany
2004 - PROF. P. Knochel Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Germany
2002 - PROF. D. Boger Scripps Research Institute, USA
2000 - PROF. F. Diederich ETH Zurich, Switzerland
1998 - PROF. D. P. Curran University of Pittsburgh, USA
1996 - PROF. S. V. Ley Cambridge, UK
1994 - PROF. K. C. Nicolaou The Scripps Research Institute and University of California at San Diego, USA
1992 - PROF. P. D. Magnus Texas University, USA
1990 - PROF. B. M. Trost Stanford University, USA
1988 - PROF. J. Baldwin Oxford University, UK
1986 - PROF. K. B. Sharpless Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA