Skip to main content

PROF. Janine Cossy


Janine Cossy’s early career was spent in Reims, where she did her undergraduate and graduate studies at the University of Champagne-Ardenne, working on photochemistry under the supervision of Pr. Jean Pierre Pète. After a postdoctoral stay with Pr. Barry M. Trost, for two years at the University of Wisconsin (USA), she returned to Reims where she became, in 1990, Director of Research at the CNRS. In the same year, she moved to Paris and, since 1990, she is Professor of Organic Chemistry at the ESPCI Paris.

Janine Cossy's research interests focus on the synthesis of natural products and biologically active molecules and on the development of synthetic methods (stereoselective reactions, organometallic reactions, catalysis, ring expansions, opening of strained rings, synthesis of heterocyclic compounds). She has many collaborations with pharma and agro companies. Her research efforts have resulted in more than 485 publications and 15 patents. Among the awards, she received the CNRS Bronze Medal (1987), the CNRS Silver Medal (1996), UK Royal Society Rosalyn Franklin International Lecturership awarded to internationally recognized women scientists (UK) (2005), Le Bel Award from the French Chemical Society (France) (2009). In 2013, she was nominated Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur and in 2015, she obtained the E. C. Taylor Senior Award (USA) and the UR Ghatak endowment award (IACS, India). She is Organic Letters Associate Editor since 2005.

Janine Cossy PROF. Janine Cossy

PROF. Janine Cossy
Professor of Organic Chemistry
ESPCI Paris, Paris (France)

Last updated: Sept. 1, 2019

The Jury

PROF. B.L. Feringa President of the jury,
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
PROF. J. Cossy ESPCI, Paris (France)
PROF. DR. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institute für Kohlenforschung - Germany
PROF. V. Gouverneur University of Oxford, UK
PROF. P. Herdewijn Rega Institute for Medical Sciences Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
PROF. K.C. Nicolaou Rice University, USA
PROF. S. Kobayashi President, University of Tokyo, Japan
PROF. E. N. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
Dr L. Meerpoel Secretary of the jury Janssen R&D, Belgium