Skip to main content

The Janssen prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis draws its reputation not least from the truly impressive list of past winners. It is therefore a particular honor to have our work recognized by this prestigious award.

Alois Fürstner

PROF. A. Fürstner

Alois Fürstner is a native of Austria and obtained his PhD from the Technical University of Graz, Austria. After a postdoctoral stint with the late Prof. Oppolzer in Geneva, Switzerland, and completion of his Habilitation in Graz, he joined the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim, Germany, in 1993 as a group leader, where he was promoted to the rank of Director in 1998. He served as the Managing Director of this Institute from 2009-2011, a duty that he will resume in 2016.

His research interests focus on organometallic chemistry and homogeneous catalysis, including applications to the total synthesis of structurally complex and biologically significant natural products. Topics of particular interest comprise the metathesis of alkenes and alkynes, the development and use of carbophilic Lewis acids based on platinum and gold, as well mechanistic and synthetic studies in the field of iron catalysis.

In recognition of his work, Professor Fürstner received several awards, including the Leibniz Award from the German Science Foundation (1999), the IUPAC-Thieme Prize (2000), an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award of the ACS (2002), the first Mukaiyama Award (Japan, 2005), the Otto-Bayer-Prize (2006), the Heinrich Wieland Prize (2006), the Janssen prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (2008), the Prelog Medal of the ETH Zürich (2011), the Karl Ziegler Prize of the German Chemical Society (2013), the Gay Lussac/Humboldt Prize (2014), and the ACS HC Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods (2016). He is a member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher “Leopoldina”.

A. Fürstner A. Fürstner
Last updated: Jan. 9, 2020


2018 - PROF. F. D. Toste UC Berkeley, USA
2016 - PROF. D. MacMillan Princeton University, USA
2014 - PROF. J.F Hartwig UC Berkeley, USA
2012 - PROF. I. Marek Technion, Israel
2010 - PROF. E. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
2008 - PROF. A. Fürstner Max-Planck-Institut, Germany
2004 - PROF. P. Knochel Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Germany
2002 - PROF. D. Boger Scripps Research Institute, USA
2000 - PROF. F. Diederich ETH Zurich, Switzerland
1998 - PROF. D. P. Curran University of Pittsburgh, USA
1996 - PROF. S. V. Ley Cambridge, UK
1994 - PROF. K. C. Nicolaou The Scripps Research Institute and University of California at San Diego, USA
1992 - PROF. P. D. Magnus Texas University, USA
1990 - PROF. B. M. Trost Stanford University, USA
1988 - PROF. J. Baldwin Oxford University, UK
1986 - PROF. K. B. Sharpless Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA