Skip to main content

About the Prize

The Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis was established in 1986 by Janssen Pharmaceuticals, members of the academic chemistry community and the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS) to bring attention to the positive impact of organic synthesis in drug discovery.

  • This prestigious recognition is awarded every two years to a chemist, under the age of 50, who has made a significant contribution to the field of organic synthesis
  • Nominations are submitted by the global academic community of organic chemists
  • A panel of international jury members , chaired by Prof. B. Feringa, 2016 Nobel Prize winner, select the winner.
  • The recipient receives 20.000 Euros, a trophy, a plaque and delivers a keynote address at BOSS.
  • Learn more about our 30-year legacy here and our impressive winners here .


Congratulations to our 2022 Winner!

Frank Glorius

Professor of Chemistry
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität
Münster, Germany


Professor Glorius is an international leader and highly innovative scientist in the fields of organic synthesis and catalysis with outstanding contributions and accomplishments, in particular, in catalytic hydrogenations, C-H activation, visible light photocatalysis and organocatalysis with N-heterocyclic carbenes (NHCs). Learn more here.


Prof. Glorius will deliver a keynote lecture at the BOSS XVII meeting in Namur, Belgium, July 3 - 8, 2022, where he will receive a trophy and certificate from Janssen Prize jury president Prof. Ben L. Feringa and Emma Parmee, Global Head, Therapeutics Discovery, Janssen Research & Development. He will be joined by 2020 winner, Prof. Phil S. Baran, Professor of Chemistry, Scripps Research, who will also be recognized during the event.

Check out our videos Boss|XVI

Last updated: March, 2022