Skip to main content

PROF. N. De Kimpe

Norbert De Kimpe obtained the diploma of chemical agricultural engineer (1971), the PhD degree (1975) and the habilitation degree (1985) from Ghent University (Belgium). He performed postdoctoral research work at the University of Massachusetts at Boston (1979) and at the CNRS in Paris (1983).

He was research director of the National Fund of Scientific research after which he became full professor at the Department of Sustainable Organic Chemistry and Technology, Faculty of Bioscience Engineering at Ghent University. He was a guest professor at the Universities of Perpignan, Helsinki, Siena, Barcelona, Sofia, Buenos Aires and Pretoria. He was awarded the degree of Doctor honoris causa from the Russian Academy of Sciences in Novosibirsk (Russia, 1998) and from the University of Szeged (Hungary, 2007).  

He is member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium, Section Natural Sciences, and the Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europea (European Academy of Sciences and Arts), Salzburg (Austria). Since 2013 he is emeritus professor at the above Department at Ghent University, where he still continues scientific research. He is the author of 650 articles in international peer-reviewed journals, and his research interests include (1) the synthesis of bioactive  heterocyclic compounds and natural products, (2) organofluorine chemistry, (3) isolation of bioactive natural products from medicinal plants, and (4) flavour and food chemistry.


PROF. Norbert De Kimpe
Ghent University
Department of Sustainable Organic Chemistry and Technology
Faculty of Bioscience Engineering
Coupure Links 653
B-9000 Gent

Last updated: Aug 28, 2018

The Jury

PROF. B.L. Feringa President of the jury,
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
PROF. J. Cossy ESPCI, Paris (France)
PROF. B. G. Davis University of Oxford, UK
PROF. V. Gouverneur University of Oxford, UK
PROF. N. De Kimpe University Ghent, Belgium
PROF. K.C. Nicolaou Rice University, USA
PROF. S. Kobayashi President, University of Tokyo, Japan
PROF. E. N. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
Dr L. Meerpoel Secretary of the jury Janssen R&D, Belgium