Skip to main content

Dr L. Meerpoel

Lieven holds a Ph.D. (1992) in organic synthesis from the Catholique University Leuven under the supervision of prof. G. Hoornaert and did a post-doc (1993) with prof. P. Vogel in Lausanne, Switzerland.  In 1993 he joined the Janssen Research Foundation, currently known as Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson.  


In 2001 he assumed responsibilities as head of the Synthesis Enabling Technology Group (SynTech). He was a key player in the implementation of Hit-to-Lead chemistry, and implemented multiple-step parallel solution phase and solid phase chemistry in hit and lead exploration. As a medicinal chemistry team leader he discovered over 10 clinical candidates in the field of infectious and metabolic diseases,  bactericidal compounds for protection of material deterioration,  and oncology. In 2003 he became head of Medicinal Chemistry. At the end of 2006 he installed and led a new group called Exploratory Research that is involved in drug repositioning and exploratory medicinal chemistry based on broad phenotypic and in vivo screening. In December 2007 he became RED EU, Head of Medicinal Chemistry, in January 2009 Head of Medicinal Chemistry Scientific Affairs, and from September 2010 onwards Head of Medicinal Chemistry, Oncology. In July 2015 he assumed global responsibilities for Compound Logistics and Analytical Sciences. 


He is currently author and co-author of more than 90 peer reviewed publications and patents and founder and organizer of a series of J&J symposia on Drug Discovery. He had positions as board member of the Society of Combinatorial Sciences, member of the International Advisory Board of ChemMedChem, Wiley-VCH and ISMC and ASMC symposia. Since 2007 he is a Fellow of the faculty of Science from the KU Leuven, and had a BAP position from 2010 onwards at the University of Antwerp. 


He is acting secretary of the Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize of Creativity of Organic Synthesis Jury since 2008. 

Lieven Meerpoel Lieven Meerpoel

Lieven Meerpoel
Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Last updated: Aug 28, 2018

The Jury

PROF. B.L. Feringa President of the jury,
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
PROF. J. Cossy ESPCI, Paris (France)
PROF. B. G. Davis University of Oxford, UK
PROF. V. Gouverneur University of Oxford, UK
PROF. N. De Kimpe University Ghent, Belgium
PROF. K.C. Nicolaou Rice University, USA
PROF. S. Kobayashi President, University of Tokyo, Japan
PROF. E. N. Jacobsen Harvard University, USA
Dr L. Meerpoel Secretary of the jury Janssen R&D, Belgium